There’s just no feeling like the feeling you have when you finally get your driver’s license. A driver’s license means the flexibility to go places and do things on your own time and the freedom to explore the open road. So how do you go about getting your driver’s license in California? By taking a CA Driver’s Education Course! Read on to learn everything you need to know about CA Drivers Ed.
First Things First
The California Department of Motor Vehicles says that before you can get your driver’s license, you have to get a learner’s permit; and before you get a learner’s permit, you have to complete a state-approved driver’s education course.
A Driver’s Ed course is required because it contains all of the information and training you need to become a smart, safe, responsible driver. You’ll learn all about traffic signs, road awareness, safety tips and much more. Another perk of taking a Driver’s Ed course? Some insurance companies offer special discounts if you’ve completed a state-approved Driver’s Ed course.
Your CA Driver’s Education Course Will Teach You:
- How to be a safe, responsible driver, including skills and tips to help you safely operate a car
- All local California laws, including correct stopping distance and who has the right of way in certain situations
- How to identify California-specific road signs (and what they mean)
- How to prepare for and handle unexpected situations, including dangerous conditions, emergencies, construction zones, railroad crossings and other hazards
In addition, California Driver’s Ed courses will show at least 100 minutes of videos that demonstrate vital driver’s education instruction. Please note that these videos may contain graphic scenes of traffic accidents.
Your Driver’s Ed Course Includes:
- 25 hours of classroom instruction
- 6 hours of professional instruction behind the wheel
Once you have completed all requirements of your state-approved California Driver’s Ed course, you’ll receive a certificate of completion. From there, you can take your written test to get your learner’s permit.
Getting Your Learner’s Permit
Once you complete a state-approved Driver’s Ed course and pass the written test, you’ll receive your learner’s permit. You must also be between the ages of 15 1/2 and 18 years old to do so. Note: If you’re over 17 1/2 years old but have not yet turned 18, you can get your learner’s permit without taking a Driver’s Ed course. However, you can’t take the driving test until you turn 18 years old.
Once you have your learner’s permit, you’ll be required to log 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of which are required to happen when it’s dark outside) in order to qualify to get your California driver’s license.
Choosing a Driver’s Ed Course
There are many Driver’s Ed schools in the state of California. So how do you choose the right one for you? Here are a few tips:
- Ask your peers which Driver’s Ed school they attended and if they’d recommend it.
- Check any potential Driver’s Ed schools’ license status at dmv.ca.gov
- Call 916-229-3126 to check license status
- Visit bbb.org to see which Driver’s Ed schools belong to Better Business Bureau. You can also view customer complaints on that website.
Stay Safe Out There
As you choose the best teen driver’s education course for you, it’s important to remember that driving is a privilege, not a right. Getting your driver’s license and getting out on the open road by yourself is not something to be taken lately. All California residents must have a driver’s license to operate any vehicle.
The last and final tip to remember as you embark on your driving journey is to be smart and stay safe. Your life depends on it!